Oy! My Sciatica!

Sciatica

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Sciatica
Classification and external resources
Left gluteal region, showing surface markings for arteries and sciatic nerve.

Sciatica is a set of symptoms including pain that may be caused by general compression and/or irritation of one of five nerve roots that give rise to the sciatic nerve, or by compression or irritation of the sciatic nerve itself. The pain is felt in the lower back, buttock, and/or various parts of the leg and foot. In addition to pain, which is sometimes severe, there may be numbness, muscular weakness, and difficulty in moving or controlling the leg. Typically, the symptoms are only felt on one side of the body.

_______________________________________________________________________________

And am I feeling it today.

I hate that there is no rhyme nor reason for Sciatica. 

And how is it that at the not-so-ripe age of 38, I experience this? I am open to all explanations.

I always know when I’m going to have a round of this craptastic pain. Last week, my nerve endings were tender in my back. No. I don’t/ didn’t have shingles. I wish that it could be that easily explained away. I have begged my doctor in the past to just diagnose me with something. But, Sciatica cannot be diagnosed, says he. I think he’s full of shit.

So I ride it out.

At any rate, it’s a gorgeous day! I am happy about that. It has been relentlessly raining here for far too many days. Over a week, in fact. We have surpassed the rainfall record for June and July here in Toronto. I’m wondering if the weather has anything to do with this stupid pain.

[For the record: I never- in a million years- thought that I would ever be complaining about pain in a blog. But here we are.]

So. Sun. Beautiful. Warm. I can overlook the pain!

Today, I will:

*shop for rhinestones with Pammers for a top secret photo shoot we are doing tomorrow. Last of the Prop styling. For this leg of the shoot. Only two more subjects to go for this project. Unless Pamela suggests yet ANOTHER person for it. [Pam- stop suggestion people! You’re giving me Sciatica!]

*Go back to the Dufferin Mall. Because it must be done. And it is fun.

*Try to find another pair of CLASSIC black flip-flops. It is impossible in Canada. I wish there were a Target here. *sigh* perhaps Zellers– the next best thing to Target.

*Clean my studio. Again. Why is it not self-cleaning again? 

And that, my dear friends, is what is up today.

Really exciting. I know.

And just a random observation: David Duchovny is REALLY boring live. [Dear Karma: Please don’t bite my ass by making me work with him next week or something like it!]

9 Responses

  1. Old navy… classic black.. Let me know if you can’t find what you are looking for, I’ll pick you up a pair. =)

  2. 1. Oh no! I’ll share my pain patches with you, too. They work great for sciatica. The other thing that works is ice cream. You just eat it.
    1. I love David Duchovny and he is funny in interviews. I can’t WAIT to see the new X-FILES movie. Though, I think he is boring in most all other projects he’s acted in. Are you sure what you saw him be boring in was LIVE and not just not the x-files?
    3. Pam’s got such great suggestions! 😉

  3. Oh No Jake! so sorry about the pain and all the rain. That sucks! I can say that when we have lots of rain and pressure changes my joints ache. But I have kidney issues, which effect my posture, so I have constant back pain. IT SUCKS!

    I hope you feel better soon.

    When it comes to shopping, I have no idea what you’re talking about. I’m such a lesbian! butch maybe? Don’t understand the shopping language. But hope you have fun with it! When you’re electronic shopping, let me know…that I can get into! Your iphone, I’m so jealous!

    talk soon! miss ya!!!!

    kisses and hugs to ya!

  4. My friend who is 26 has a vertabrae out of place that puches on a nerve causing sciatica. My grandpa has narrowing of the spine which causes his sciatica. My FIL has a compressed nerve causing his lol.

    I know a ton of people with it. Including myself. Mine is from the three epidurals I’ve had. I find warmth helps mine the most. Though I don’t think that’s the recommended way to do it. I just go with what works. Also tylenol arthritis that I take for my knee helps with my back for whatever reason.

    I also have a crooked neck from a marching band accident, yea you saw that right. that’s just how hardcore I am. 😉

  5. ok so that should say pushes lol I switched to this tiny keyboard like two weeks ago and my spelling has been terrible ever since!

  6. jake! sorry to hear about your sciatica! i’ve been there– mine was due to a herniated disc (diagnosed through a mri–or is it AN mri? idk). had surgery almost 7 years ago and i’ve been fine ever since.

    in the meantime, stay away from horseback riding and gymnastics. xo

  7. Parkdale clinic, love – free pins. Please go to the first floor reception and ask to put yourself on the natreo clinic list. Can’t hurt (more), right?

  8. Hey handsome,

    I had a few clients with sciatica when I was a massage therapist. The first thing that has to go are uncomfortable shoes, or any shoe with a heel.

    Stretching exercise should be done gently, and daily, for at least 15 minutes, and if you sit for long periods make sure you get up and flex every half-hour or so.

    Relaxation massage helps, but stay away from any deep tissue work.

    Also, try not to compress the affected leg. If you’re a side sleeper, sleep on the opposite side. It’s best to sleep on your back though.

    Sciatica can go away as quickly as it arrived, or it can turn chronic. I hope you’ll be able to nip yours in the bud!

  9. Great advice from Jane. I’ve gotten chiropractic care for years and find it helps with sciatica.

    Mine was triggered by using a stepper for exercise. I developed sciatica within two weeks of getting the stepper and it took three or more weeks to fully clear out.

Leave a Reply

