Pit Bulls, Lipstick and a Side of 15 For Ron Paul

Well.

It cannot be argued that Sarah Palin does not get a crowd going. 

At the RNC Wednesday night, Palin delivered a deliberately effective speech to and for the people. More specifically, for hockey moms everywhere. It was pretty blatant where this speech- written by one of Bush’s top speech writers- was trying to go; who it was trying to hit. 

For all those who have responded to my last post and the post before that, suggesting that Sarah Palin is being used as a pawn or a PR tactic within the Republican Party, I think that your case just made its point.

Some highlights:

 

In our family, it’s two boys and three girls in between – my strong and kind-hearted daughters Bristol, Willow, and Piper.

And in April, my husband Todd and I welcomed our littlest one into the world, a perfectly beautiful baby boy named Trig. From the inside, no family ever seems typical.

That’s how it is with us.

Our family has the same ups and downs as any other … the same challenges and the same joys.

Hit on the first pitch to her fellow, regular ol’ American Peeps. First Base.

 

 “You know the difference between a hockey mom and a pit bull? Lipstick.”

Now that- after seeing the well-planted “Hocky Moms for Palin” signs in the audience was the line of the night. And it wasn’t even in the script. She CAN improvise- Hit. Move onto second base.

[Is it just me or does anyone else see Palin as a Tina Fey character? It’s often so comedic. PLEASE SNL- Bring back Tina Fey for guest spots as Palin!]

 

But here’s a little news flash for all those reporters and commentators: I’m not going to Washington to seek their good opinion – I’m going to Washington to serve the people of this country. Americans expect us to go to Washington for the right reasons, and not just to mingle with the right people.

Politics isn’t just a game of clashing parties and competing interests.

The right reason is to challenge the status quo, to serve the common good, and to leave this nation better than we found it.

Another hit! Move on to third base! Bases are LOADED! You remind those Americans that you are JUST LIKE THEM- a hockey mom running for office and taking over Washington. For the people!

 

To the most powerful office on earth, he would bring the compassion that comes from having once been powerless … the wisdom that comes even to the captives, by the grace of God … the special confidence of those who have seen evil, and seen how evil is overcome. A fellow prisoner of war, a man named Tom Moe of Lancaster, Ohio, recalls looking through a pin-hole in his cell door as Lieutenant Commander John McCain was led down the hallway, by the guards, day after day.

As the story is told, “When McCain shuffled back from torturous interrogations, he would turn toward Moe’s door and flash a grin and thumbs up” – as if to say, “We’re going to pull through this.” My fellow Americans, that is the kind of man America needs to see us through these next four years.

 

I’m just wondering here- Is the fact that McCain was a POW the reason that we can trust him in a war torn world? My guess is that- if I had been a prisoner of war for as long as he had, I would have vendetta on the mind. Just saying- At any rate, tears are now flowing. Another hit, this time out of the park. Four points for the Republicans. 

The only thing left that I want to know when she will be talking about (to quote one of my commenters from another post) “anti-choice, anti-gay rights, and full-throttle rape the earth as quick as we can anti-environment” stances. She really hasn’t had a chance to address all of this yet in a public forum. Swept into a VP nom and making speeches to get “the people” worked into a frenzy of “OMG! She’s JUST LIKE US!” -ness takes time and effort.

A friend of mine made me aware of some fact checking into Palin’s speech which you can find here. It’s a good read!

But my favorite quote of the day comes from Regan’s “Read my lips” speech writer, Peggy Noonan:

“The most qualified? No! I think they went for this- excuse me political bullshit about narratives… Every time Republicans do that, because that’s not where they live and it’s not what they’re good at, they blow it.”

15 for Ron Paul, On a side:

Go Ron Paul for having your own rally/ convention across the street (basically) from the RNC. Complete with (eew) Tucker Carlson and Jesse Ventura. They’d have been better off haveing cute, young, brilliant Libertarian-esques such as Oliver Pigott and troop/ artist/ political commentator, Jayel Aheram. Along with a good majority of the US troops that were/ are Ron Paul supporters. 

A commentary from someone who attended both the “Rally for The Republic” and the RNC:

My interest in the US Elections is great. It is no surprise that I would be an Obama supporter from here on in but I’d love to hear thoughts and see a dialogue going on the subject of the origination of a Democratic Republic. What say you about the US constitution? About the Declaration of Independence? Although I am a bystander from another country, American elections affect the state of the world and I think that it’s in everybody’s interest to pay attention to what’s going on. My only wish is that more US citizens were apt to pay attention to what is going on in the rest of the world. To get outside of the microcosm. I know it’s hard. I’m an outsider looking in. All the time. Hell, I haven’t even blogged about what’s going on right now in Canadian politics. [It’s coming.]

But until then, Thoughts?

10 Responses

  1. You know many Americans are so dissatisfied with the establishment that they don’t even vote. They feel like, after the last two elections which were won be default, their vote doesn’t count. Is that a reason not to vote, no it’s not. So many of us crave change yet do nothing to bring it about.
    I agree that US citizens don’t really know what’s going on in the world at large. I try to keep as informed as I can. I don’t know why so many choose to ignore it. The whole world is connected to us just as much as we are to them

  2. Nice writing style. I look forward to reading more in the future.

  3. Bless you, dear Jake, for allowing us thinking women a safe haven for expressing our UTTER AND COMPLETE HORROR of what’s going on here!

    I am completely aghast at ALL of this shit…and again, I must state that this is FINALLY the PROOF we need to expose the fact that John McCain is officially in the throes of age related dementia.

    There can be no other explanation.

    I want SO BADLY for a strong, intelligent woman to finally shatter the glass ceilings women everywhere face. I want our voices to be adequately represented in the “old boys club” that is Washington…yet not at this price. She is nothing but a talking head. A pawn in the RNC’s machine. MY GOD, RNC!!! Couldn’t you have chosen any number of the other intelligent, thinking Republican women out there?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!

    I kept leaving the room in disgust last night at a speech that was SO CLEARLY not her own words and simply the rhetoric of Bush speech-writers…but yet, like a car wreck, I kept coming back, rubber-necking in disbelief at the horror of it all!

    The BEST thing to come out of last night’s BS?!?! Since Palin’s speech, Obama raised over $8M! I guess there is a silver lining if you look hard enough!

  4. The Stepford Wife for VP…???

    I wanted HRC, I was hoping for Obama/Clinton,
    now I am praying and pushing for Obama/Biden.

    I know a lot of people who are looking at condos in Canada…just to be safe.

    Nice post, Jake

  5. Love your writing style Jake….just saying! I watched a lot of Palin’s speech the other night even though I was also trying to watch the season opener of The Riches, but, like Kim I couldn’t help myself..I had to keep going back to see what she was saying! The speech was so obviously not written by her and the well placed placards in the crowd made it obvious! (How many of them knew she was going to make the point of being a ‘Hockey Mom’???) Having said this though, I thought her delivery was good and I could imagine some of the Democrat viewers reeling a bit. The part that got me angry though was when she compared her experience to Obama’s….the ‘community organiser versus being a Mayor’..or some such rubbish! That really was an insult not only to Obama, but to ALL the hard working community organisers across the country!
    I agree with you about not enough Americans taking an interest in what’s going on around the World. That’s a big part of the problem. I don’t know what the solution is though.

    I look forward to reading your comments on the upcoming Canadian election! I seriously doubt if many Canadians are ready for another election and it annoys me that it’s being forced on us right now!

  6. You actually want to hear about dry boring stuff like Palin’s actual policy stances? There’s a Canadian for you 😉 Apparently you’re an “elitist” here in the U.S. now–even if you’re poverty or working-class–if you actually want to know what a candidate stands for! It’s all about the show and the glam and the spin… As long as you SAY you’re a regular joe, you can wear a $300,000 outfit like Cindy McCain, and we’ll believe you have our best interests at heart. It’s a faith thing, so I’ve been told 😉

    Too bad the Yahoo fact-checkers you referenced didn’t talk about how Palin drove the Wasilla budget into vast debt for a little VILLAGE, cut taxes on business and raised them on residents… and how, as governor, almost every one of the line items she vetoed willy-nilly as “pork” (and touts as evidence of her fiscal conservativism) was actually reinstated later–once someone explained to her just how important those things were to the actual functioning of the state! And, and, and…

    But, silly me, those things are just boring details… can’t have too much reality in our reality TV, now can we?

  7. I love this Jake. I haven’t been able to formulate my thoughts of McCain or Palin yet….but thought you did a wonderful job at it! Palin scares me almost more than McCain does. But the two of them together terrifies me!

    I was planning on commenting about you being a Canadian, but interested in American politics as I was reading the entire thing. Then I reached the end and you hit right on the head what I was thinking. Most of us Americans are too lazy to even follow our own politics, much less that of the worlds. We really are naive about what’s going on in other parts of the world, and how that effects everything else. The world is huge, but everything that happens on it comes full circle!

  8. Sociopath for Vice-President?

    I’ve mentioned Sarah Palin’s flat-out rape the earth environmental stances, elsewhere. I held back on repeating rumors I’d heard from Alaskans about her support of aerial hunting but now it’s being widely reported that she has not only heavily advocated aerial hunting, but also participates in it.

    Some might be surprised to learn that while I personally do not hunt, I’m not actually anti-hunting. I do support hunting when it’s practiced solely for subsistence, with respect, and within careful management limitations (having removed so many predators from the food chain sometimes human interference does become necessary to restore imbalances we’ve created). Aerial hunting such as Sarah Palin both practices and advocates is none of these.

    Hunters, safe and warm in airplanes and helicopters torture their prey–usually things they have no intention of eating and definitely have no need to eat–bears, big cats, wolves, etc. They chase them in terror for miles and miles and either shoot them from on high or land and get out to blow them away once the poor animals have nearly died from fright and exhaustion. Aerial hunting is the sadistic “sport” of cowardly sociopaths. Many who senselessly murder animals in this way do not even bother to land and collect their fallen prey. Nor do their prey necessarily die a quick death. The animals may only be badly wounded due to the poor markmanship of these human predators shooting from on high. Thus, they may die very slow and painful deaths or live on, suffering from severe disabilities. Chilling…

    Many of the most died-in-the-wool macho big game non-subsistence “sport” hunters have come out squarely against aerial hunting because even they consider it immoral. Palin not only advocates it and practices it, but she’s encouraged her children to join in the “fun”. Some family values, eh?

    I don’t believe I’m indulging in hyperbole when I point out that one of the hallmark characteristics used to diagnose sociopathic personalities, (those who commit the most heinous of crimes against humanity), is the torture of animals…

  9. You did an awesome job analyzing all the info out there. Do I sense a political analyst in the making?! And about Palin. She’s being sold to us as “every woman.” Just like any mom on the street. (which makes me want to hurl, but still) Here’s the thing. I don’t want someone “just like me” running the fricking country! I want someone smarter, more experienced and more qualified, HELLO?! Getting three kids to bed before 9pm, I can do that. Running the country? Not at the top of my skills. Catch my drift?

  10. Jake!

    Excellent post! I have to say that I was impressed with the speech given by Sarah Palin. Any conservative middle to upper class white woman would think she was the best choice as a V.P. Honestly, I have nothing against Sarah Palin, but it’s a slap in the face to every voter in the U.S. I am hoping that people really consider their choice for President this November. Regardless of who they vote for, make sure that it is an informed decision.

    I would like to see someone get into the presidency and senate that is going to make positive waves. To focus on the people of the United States; experience with a side of being liberal when one needs to be. A true representative of the people, and not a monetary class.

    I am not overly impressed with either candidate; just saying.

Leave a Reply

