9/11: History, Present, Future

I have reflected- in print- on 9/11 for the last two years.

I have reflected about many things in the past: Where I was, what I was doing; who and what that day reminds me of.

On this anniversary, I am thinking of a film.

What, with the elections just around the corner. What, with the media and political circus and political drama, and political “chess” moves that are being palyed in American Politics, all North American Politics, World Politics at the moment. 

Today is a different day for me than past 9/11 anniversaries.

9/11/01 was the catalyst to a lot of the world as we know it now.

Today, I can see how far we have NOT come as a planet; as a conscious race of humans; as people who seem to have been given faery dust and are still asleep. The whole world seems to have become a bizarre kind of Brigadoon.

To quote a friend’s response when I questioned the media’s motives as of late: “It’s all diversion, deflection, and meaningless speculation… The new American media is about opinions, not facts.” Is it just me or has the media drastically changed since 9/11? [Or was it like this before?] And I’m not just talking about the obvious Rupert Murdoch and Fox. I’m talking about all of it. MSNBC. CNN. Even the BBC. The list can go on. To me, it’s appears that almost every Media outlet is a Stepford wife.

Today, Palin’s son is deployed to Iraq. Pardon me: “Eye-Rack.” Perhaps it’s coincidence but I can’t help but notice that it came at a very convenient time. 

Of course I think about what was lost that day. But as I reflect, I think more about what has been lost since. 9/11/01 is a marker. I don’t want to take away from the horror; the loss; the pain that everyone- especially the families and 1st responders- has gone through and what this day represents for them.

Today- 9/11/08- I just can’t help but think of the film, Wag The Dog. And I can’t help but think that we have been- and continue to be- duped.

7 Responses

  1. On this day I fear not only we will continue to be duped but by the time we wake up and see it it will be too late.

    I look back on that day. I woke up went to school everything was going pretty well. I went to choir strangely I remember we were singing extremely well that day, the intercom came on and announced what had happened. I will forever share a bond with the people in that room.

    Will it take another terror like that to wake us up? It seems that 9/11 effectively put blinders on the whole country. We are happy to go about our lives not asking questions. Not looking for answers. We happily trot for the apple hung in front of our faces while the world is raped and pilaged.
    Has anyone even questioned why we are still in Iraq when the Iraqi government keeps telli us to get out?

    I feel for the families of the lost and the dying first responders that our government so effectively ignores.

    Most of all I mourn for the spirit of our country because surely it died right along with the innocent people.

  2. I agree that the media has changed drastically over the last 7 years. It’s really sad.

    Palin’s son is going to Iraq because he had a choice between that and serving some jail time. Nothing heroic at all, in my opinion.

    9-11 brings a lot of memories back to me, because at that exact time, my life was hell. Something was happening to my son, it was my fault for even allowing it to happen…but I didn’t. I was facing my past because this happened to him. He doesn’t even remember now…but I can’t seem to forget…

  3. Ever since 9-11-01 many Americans were angry, and as Tom Brokaw said ” A Sleeping Giant ” has been awakened. The Bush Administration was clear, as was Congress. They would bring to justice those who attacked the innocent; those who changed everyone’s lives forever.

    So the Taliban became the target of our revenge. No one would disagree that HELL was about to be unleashed. However, the role of revenge took an even more sinister turn. In the shadows, were whispers of greed and a precise plan of manipulation to invade a country ( IRAQ) that had nothing to do with 9/11.

    Personally, I was very supportive of bringing to justice the many who played a part in killing so many innocent. It was the idea of lying to the world about Iraq, invading it, and having so many innocent people killed; even up to today. That burns me up.

    In my opinion, it is the BUSH ADMINISTRATION that has taken away the respect, and meaning of the tragic day of 9/11/01 and flushed it down the tubes of war. What could have been a simple act of justice, has now turned the USA in War Mongors! My vote in November is a tiny part, unnoticed by many; that will show my dislike for anyone that may be associated with the Bush Regime!

    I love when I babble….

  4. As if American media wasn’t bad before, YES! In the past seven years it HAS gotten worse. All you ever need to do is spend time in Europe (ok, not the UK) watching their news.

    No wonder we are tagged “Stupid Americans” by so many abroad when the broad masses of Americans get all their information about the world at large through our insipid, skewed, presonality-driven Amercian media.

    Sad, indeed.

  5. “Today, I can see how far we have NOT come as a planet; as a conscious race of humans; as people who seem to have been given faery dust and are still asleep. The whole world seems to have become a bizarre kind of Brigadoon.”

    BRILLIANT!

  6. I fear it’s no accident that the media has become what it has. One form of media after another has been swallowed up by megalopolies thanks to the Republicans revamping of the FCC and gutting anti-monopoly legislation–with a lot of corporate-owned Democrats’ help.

    It’s all straight out of the historical fascistic playbook: Gain control of the media. Fan the flames of internal divisions. Invoke fear of “outsiders” and other nations. Push for blind patriotism. Invoke “God”… and so on…

    Chilling.

    We’ve still got the Internet for the moment. But it is already under attack and if we want to hang on to any pretense of freedom of speech here and elsewhere, we all need to pay attention to what the FCC and other US agencies are up to and we must fight back, strenuously. There’s already a little-known department within the US Treasury that can shut down any website (foreign or domestic) that’s registered through a US provider (most are) without cause or notice and with only a very byzantine appeal process as recourse.

  7. Jake, you are seeing what many cannot. We are being artfully manipulated and most people don’t know it.

Leave a Reply

