Can’t Take My Eyes Off Of You

 

Money. Debt. Loss. Unnecessary gas shortages.

I think that we, the people are being duped. I have said it before. I’m saying it again.

But this is what I don’t understand: Where is the uprising? It seems that at least 75% of Americans didn’t want this bailout- a bold and blatant “one final move” brought to you by Geo. W. Bush. 75% is probably a conservative estimate, actually. 

So where’s the uprising? Why are “the people” not taking over the government that they created to begin with? Reach back to the beginning of the Democratic Republic that became (North) America. Is it working? Have times changed so much that it needs to be revised? Does government need a complete over-haul? 

In my humble opinion, it does.

America has been Democrat vs. Republican for centuries now. There is no Democratic Republic. The American people have become complacent regarding what “governs” them. I lie. Most humans have become complacent; from whatever they come from. I am in Canada. We have become complacent here too.

Money and markets and Big Business has become the rule; the govern that governs the government. Worldwide. Money talks, bullshit walks. But bullshit has now become our day-to-day lives. The basic, simplest of living. There will be none of that. We are in the midst of more than an economic depression; we are in the midst of a world torn. And the hero that we’re all holding out for (be you Democrat, Republican, Liberal, Conservative, Libertarian, Independent, etc) ain’t coming. There is no hero.

[Oh. And NO ONE won the first presidential debate. That’s just a whole lot of BS that we’re being fed by media. Yet, here I sit listening and watching and reading all media. Left, Right and Otherwise.]

This bailout would have affected the entire world. Financial experts from many countries are saying both that it will and that it won’t. But it is inevitable. Regardless of a bailout or plunging markets, we are lost. We have become beyond obsessed- ruled by, really- with finance over all.

We are officially in the midst of worldwide turmoil. No longer are we- in the western world- in the land of the free. It’s a farce. It doesn’t exist. As much as we are still led to believe that it does. West, East. We are officially screwed. 

A blogger friend suggested that the beaches in Costa Rica are looking good right about now to which I responded: If there is an extraterrestrial life, now’s the time to show it’s face. Because I don’t think that Costa Rica- or even the smallest Island in the South Pacific; or even an escape to the Yukon- is going to help protect us or help us forget, for that matter. [I’d still like to be lying on the beaches of Costa Rica!]

Still- my bags are 1/2 packed. To go where. I don’t know. But this is not a world that I’m liking too much at the moment. 

In the (not so) famous words of Carl Sagan’s fictional character, Palmer Joss*: “What I’m asking is: are we happier? Is the world fundamentally a better place because of science and technology? We shop at home, we surf the Web, and at the same time we feel emptier, lonelier, and more cut off from each other than at any other time in human history…”

An article of interest (at least to me): 

http://www.tirademedia.com/collective.htm

*Contact by Carl Sagan
16 Responses

  1. Jake once again you have hit the nail on the head! You have put into words what I have been feeling for days now….it’s depressing! I keep thinking of which country would be the one to go to now….but truth is, there is none…the whole world will be affected and it will be hard to get away from any of it. Many people are sticking their heads in the sand and hoping it will all go away…unfortunately my husband is one of them…..so frustrating! People have become so apathetic because they think they are not able to make a difference and so the problem compounds itself!

    I feel I need to go outside and scream!!!! 🙂

    Andrea

  2. If you’re packing your bags, that means the Pammers will, too. Then who will I marry, where will I go?

  3. I hate not being able to trust anyone in office to look at the big picture and the larger good and not their own agendas and special interests. I’m not a stupid person, I’m reasonably well read, and yet I can’t stay on top of issues nor devote the time it would take to unravel the complex web of competing interests that the country seems caught in. I get frustrated and I suspect the reason many people aren’t protesting and in the streets is because they can’t figure out what the hell is going on and who should take responsibility.

  4. Unfortunately if we go down everyone goes down. What is the stock market really? What is it they buy? Why is it really necesary?

    Why hasn’t anyone risen up against the machine? Well I don’t know. I want to, I feel it deep in my being but I wouldn’t know where to start so I don’t. I have deep discussions with my friends but none of us go anywhere.

    I wonder how bad this will be and what I have brought my children into.

    Then I hope this is all a republican election time farce.

  5. Zeitgeist – The Movie: Federal Reserve – many sections – OMG…

    http://www.walkinyourtalk.com/?p=2199

    with all the crap going on in the world someone suggested i view this as it would/could give me some insight into some of the bull shit. i share it with you. i have not seen them all – but tonight i plan on having newman’s own pops popcorn and dr. pepper and watching them all – i added one from bill clinton – don’t remember which one. please feel to comment if you like either here or on my site. i never block anyones comments so feel free rant rave just say whatever you like – whatever. stay safe and well. blessings

  6. BTW – i first heard of Zeitgeist from Rosie o’donnell but neglected to follow it thru – by bad… oops! :mrgreen:

  7. Okay my BAD – sorry… 😆

  8. Jake, you are absolutely right. I keep saying to everyone that we, the people have complete power and control if we would just come together and speak out. But people are too busy living to care what life could be like tomorrow….myself included. I think we lay in inaction because it’s just too hard to imagine that we could one day wake up to a totally different society…but it IS very real and very possible…and, scary as hell!

  9. Jake,

    I was going to write an entire ( HUGE ASS POST ) about your current blog here. However, it boils down to just saying that I agree with you 100%.

    Americans are lazy, complacent, and lack the mentaility of those in the past that held goverment accountable. There is way too much double-talking going on by every politician.

    Excellent post!!!!!!

  10. here here – brief and too the point!

    pretty lousy when we have parents concerned about what they have brought their children into… when they should be able to be at peace having their babies and simply being able to love them and enjoy them.

    politicians are not doing anything but the the blame game and passing the buck around – what the hell are they complaining about the mess is partly because they none of them had the balls to stand up to cheney and rove – and their puppet gwb.

    i personally hope you do write a big ass post – the more the better – we need to be like the guy in “NETWORK” film – raise up the fuckin’ windows and say “you bastards – we are mad as hell and we aren’t gonna take it anymore!!!!!

  11. sorry i get carried away – i wasn’t trying to offend anyone. be safe and well y’all.
    blessings…palestar 😆

  12. after all this – i nicked a video from rosie – it is lovely and may bring some peace here at evening time. take good care all. be safe and well… 🙂

    http://www.walkinyourtalk.com/?p=2212

  13. You have it right, brother. I don’t know where we’re going to go and hide from the tools that govern – but if Harper a.k.a. Bush Light wins again – I am ready to travel. I will have to marry Jane so she can join us.

    On the 14th remember to vote against Harper – the killer of queer rights and the arts.

  14. here i am again – excuse- well even obama and mccan’t vote for that dam rescue thing???

    AAAHHHHHH! so i am done with them – i am at my wits end…

    http://www.walkinyourtalk.com/?p=2216

    be safe and well all – if i had money i would go to costa rica – me needs a sugar daddy… j/k… palestar

  15. well once more but i could nit resist…

    http://www.walkinyourtalk.com/?p=2233

    thanks now i will go to my room… :mrgreen:

  16. Just like personal change, uprisings come when we finally get uncomfortable enough to overcome our fear of change and decide it’s time to do something different…

    Are we getting near time for a very large “tea party”? (Think Boston.) The water sure seems to be getting hotter…

Leave a Reply

