The Week (or so) in Review: October 4- 15 2008

I’m going to try my best to NOT speak about politics in this post.

I have looked back at my blog over the past year and I realize that I used to talk a lot about my life and what was going on in it; a journal, so to speak.

While politics are the main focus in my life at the moment- so much so that I have lost work because of it- I have gone back to my roots of having a little fun and actually realize my work and focus on the many projects that I have let slide. 

I have returned to my novel, Home Off The Range but in a much different way. Although my editor(s) have been after me for the last 33% of the book that needs to be edited, I have swayed a smidge. Don’t get me wrong: it will get done. But at the advice of an EP and an Agent, it has been recommended to me to screen write the novel. OK. Well. Major shift. Although I always thought the story should eventually become a screenplay, I highly doubted that I would ever have anything to do with the writing of it. Maybe as an advior of sorts but writing a screenplay? Never. 

So, here I am: writing a screenplay. I was SO intimidated by it but as soon as I started, I realized how much fun I was having with it. It is SO different from writing a novel. So much. But I’m so into how different it is; how it is becoming another story, taking into consideration potential budget, how scenes have to be negotiated and coming to a truce within myself of what I can relinquish in the story to make it actually- potentially- have someone interested in saying: “Okay. Let’s go.” It’s a whole new thing.

In the mean time, I have two other projects that have been in a tickle trunk for a while that have jumped out on their own and landed in my lap. One was encouraged by a friend in SoCal who gets life-as-we-know-it more than almost anyone I know. She encouraged one of these projects to sit on my lap, look me in my face and say: “Now’s the time. Make me.” Thank Buddha for friends in SoCal. Why don’t I live there again? See. There are some things I still need to figure out.

The third project was encouraged by another writer friend of mine who is presently in negotiation for an animated series with some big three letter cable conglomorate who shall remain nameless. You know the one. I just don’t wish to jinx things by saying their names out loud. [Yes. I’m spooky like that.] As I work through project one and two, #3 is right there and ready for a good 17- 20 page synopsis. So, it is being done; I’m even making scene breakdown cards in my little recipe boxes. I didn’t expect to conjure that up yet but there it is.

Beyond projects, I am enjoying time with long-lost friends, going to art events (even if they suck), dinners and general symposiums that make us all happy. 

Canada’s winter is upon us. We need to fill ourselves with more than “Trash Wednesdays” and too much other TV. If I’m going to spend yet ANOTHER winter in cold and snow, I have got to fill my time with great projects, great connections and endless filled agendas. I can’t deal with another season of SAD. 

At least this year I am blessed with airline credits. So trips to SoCal or other warm(er) places CAN and WILL be in the cards for us.

In the mean time, here is the week’s politics and economy summed up in a very important video. Complete with winks, unnecessary spending and big-business protection:

8 Responses

  1. a screenplay! awesome… good luck w/ that, jake! and i hope this winter is SAD-free. SAD sucks. ugh… anyway, enjoy all that is going on! xo

  2. i am so going to nick this vid so funny… were ever did you find it…

    looking forward to it all you are writing…

    LA is good way to beat SAD. besides you have laptop will travel – feeling better and all will not be a chore. still work but the flow is naturally free-e as it were… 😉

    mercury goes direct the 15th – thank goodness and the full moon will slide past. breathing and hydrating is and has always been my universal advice.

    and so it goes…

  3. Winter is upon LA, too. And by winter, I mean everything is on fire and nobody can breathe. I want to hop on a plane and go to YOU for a change.
    Happy Thanksgiving, my friend. I am thankful you are in my life and always just a (now even faster!) text away.

  4. I’m so happy for you!! You are a great guy and deserve nothing but the best out of life!
    Sounds like you have some fun projects going.
    I think you and Linda would make GREAT neighbors, just sayin. LOL

  5. I miss hearing about your life Jake, I miss a lot of things. It looks like you have a lot of wonderful things in your life!!! I’m so happy for you!!!

    And I just freakin love Betty Boop!!! That is the greatest cartoon!!!!

  6. You are such a turd. But I like your idea- that would make a great screenplay 🙂

  7. ED. NOTE: ^^Juin^^ is my editor!! 😮

  8. I am THRILLED that you are focusing on creative projects! Strike back at our MIS-Leader, Harper – make art even if “Ordinary Canadians” don’t care about it and he’s trying to kill it. RISE UP AND CREATE!!!!

    Love you BIG!!!

Leave a Reply

