Where Do We Go From Here?

Extensions gone. But not forgotten. What to do with the do?

I mentioned in my last post that it was a bus(ier) November. That being said, I’m still catching up with finances from all-things-lost during the initial global financial scare through September and October. It’s AMAZING how much that affected people. But, now that people are not buying houses, condos and focusing on “back to basics”, clients and new clients need to make themselves feel better. I get it. Even as a stylist, I do the same thing. I’m freaked about money. So the first thing that makes me feel good again is having good hair, working out, having good skin, etc. That has been the conversation with clients this month. People seem to communally be feeling the same. Look good, feel better. 

Now, I realize that there are more important things going on in the world. What is affecting us personally is not as bad as what else is going on. But, all I know at the moment is what affects me personally. When I’m at a better place, I feel that I can focus on what is happening in the world. There is a certain amount of guilt there but it’s hard to not focus on what is going on in one’s own life when the chips are down.

Anyone else out there feeling it?

7 Responses

  1. I feel like my state may be starting to try to turn around. We have been pretty hard hit economically for about a year . I have seen so so many people out. Our mall was absolutely packed this weekend. Gas prices have helped.

    I agree it is easier to deal when you feel good about yourself.

  2. jake…all i know is whatever you do with you hair, you will always look fabulous.

    the world does look brighter when you are feeling better about yourself, for sure. if i could just drop 30 lbs, i’d be one optimistic betty!!

  3. I have no idea what to do with your hair… But if you need me to pass you stuff – I’m there!

  4. Can’t wait to see what you do with your hair!!! It will look fabulous!!! Have you ever tried blue????

    I feel like I look like crap lately. BUT….. starting to feel a little motivated to do something about it!!!

    Happy Thanksgiving Jake!!!

  5. Jake,

    I believe the financial crunch is affecting everyone at some level or another. Strange that those gas prices went down. I am not complaining though! I have been playing with my finances and the catch up game is such an elusive Endeavour at times. I can admit that I was not prepared, and I have seriously had to buckle down. I have focused more on staying at home, and finishing the many “video games” that I buy and get quickly frustrated with. Though money is tight, I am passing the time writing, taking photos, or electronically pleasing my mind with Tomb Raider or 007. Ha!

  6. Chips are definitely way down here, Jake, but I wanted to take a moment to say that I am thankful for having met you and the G-Man and Pamela through Linda. You have all brightened my days on more than one occasion.

    Thank you.

  7. I tell myself that even in bad economic times, people spend money and get jobs and find joy and enjoy their relationships. Not that I think that’s EASY, but it happens.

    On a good day, I believe that.

    On a bad day I don’t appreciate what I have and I’m just pissed that I have to shop at the Wal-Mart Supercenter for EVERYTHING now and feel guilty when I buy a magazine at the checkout. But buying a tube of lipgloss? I make no apologies. : )

Leave a Reply

